Blog Tour And Giveaway: A Shifting of Stars

BOOK INFORMATION

Title: A Shifting of Stars

Author: Kathy Kimbray

Publisher: Self-published

Publication date: 28 May 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

SYNOPSIS

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.

Amazon | Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.​

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.​

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.​

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

VISIT KATHY

Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

A Shifting Of Stars is something that falls squarely into my wheelhouse as a reader. I am a sucker for a good YA fantasy novel and have read a wide variety of them over the years.

I am thrilled to have added Kathy Kimbray’s new novel to that list. The novel has a really strong foundation. The plot line and twists are well developed and keep you engaged in the story. Our main character is extremely well drawn. She so well defined and well rounded that she feels like she must have come directly onto the page out of some in Kimbray’s real life! That doesn’t mean that she’s a perfect heroine – she is in fact at times deeply dislikable… just like most people. However, that certainly didn’t turn me away from her! Meadow is flawed and naive, but she is also fiercely loyal to her family and true to her motivations. Kimbray’s writing is flowing and lucid, making it really easy to fall into the story.

I will say that I was not completely sold on the worldbuilding and the magic system, but I am 100% on board with this being developed in the sequel. I felt that we dove into the action a bit quickly at the very top in an effort to start off with a bang [which it sure did!] and it stifled the worldbuilding a bit, even if all the details I was looking for were there I was distracted away from them by the introduction of new characters or some other event in the story. Additionally, the magic system doesn’t feel fully integrated into the story. I am a big fan of worldbuilding and of intricate magic systems, so I am always looking for the author to be really invested in those things, but the magic here felt a bit pasted on in a dash at the end. But, as I said earlier – I’m 100% on board with those being things to pick up after the cliffhanger of an ending!

I would rate A Shifting of Stars a solid 3.5/5 Stars. I will certainly be picking up the next book in the Of Stars series! If you’re a fan of realistic strong female leads, female friendships, realistically paced love stories [no insta-love here!] that isn’t the main focus, and an engaging YA fantasy novel that values friendship and the bonds of family you most definitely should pick up A Shifting of Stars! Thank you to the author for the gifted copy of the ebook for taking part in this tour!

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION

Prize: One (1) signed paperback copy of A Shifting of Stars and one (1) Amazon gift card worth 10 USD (two winners: one for the paperback, one for the gift card)

Scope: Open worldwide/internationally

CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

TOUR SCHEDULE

Click here to head back to the tour lauch post!

July 07
Blog tour launch at Shut up, Shealea
 Becky’s Book Blog
 Bemused Bibliophile
 Book Reviews from Canada
 Polish & Paperbacks
 SepiaReads

July 08
 A Book Devourer
 The Book Piles
 The Inked In Book Blog
 Tempest of Books

July 09
 bewitchingwords
 The Infernal Fangirl’s Heaven
 Lost in Fiction
 Provocatrix
 Sage Shelves

July 10
Author interview from Shut up, Shealea
 A Bronx Latina Reads
 Annotated Paperbacks
 Lori’s Bookshelf Reads
 Sakhile Whispers
 Starlight Reads

July 11
 Belle’s Archive
 The Bookish Mrs Harding
BookishOwl Reviews
 Oro Plata Myta
 Your Words My Ink

July 12
Creative post from Shut up, Shealea
 & she Reads
 A Few Chapters ’til Love
 Bookish Kimberly
 Celuna Maria
 Read at Night

July 13
☕ #CBTTC Twitter chat hosted by Caffeine Book Tours (@CaffeineTours)

Thanks for joining me on what is officially my first blog tour! [and my longest post to date!]

Advertisements

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s